Return to Headlines

Congratulations LEEA Winners!

Congratulations to this year's Leadership in Educational Excellence Award winners.  We are so lucky to have teachers, co-workers and friends like you!

LEE winners

Left to right:

Alisa Johnson, Middle School Principal
Vinne Pokornowski, Adapted PE Teacher
Chris Meisch, High School Principal
Heidi Kelly, Dassel Elementary Kindergarten Teacher
Jodi Munson, Cokato Elementary Kindergarten Teacher
Jeff Powers, Superintendent
Todd Smith, High School History Teacher
Brian Franklin, Cokato Elementary Principal
Debbie Morris, Dassel Elementary Principal

Joe Beckman, speaker and owner of the company, “Epic on Purpose,” was the keynote speaker at the 2019 Leadership in Educational Excellence Awards (LEEA). The ceremony was held on Wednesday, October 23, at River’s Edge Convention Center, in St. Cloud. Joe spoke to the audience about the importance of finding your calling in life, he talked about his own journey and the various jobs he held growing up. Jobs that he enjoyed, but knew they were not his calling. It wasn’t until he was working for “Youth Frontiers” speaking to children that he knew that he had found his calling. Working and connecting with kids was what he was meant to do in life. He talked about how many of the educators in the room probably share similar stories to his own that lead them into teaching and eventually finding their calling. Joe closed his remarks with deep gratitude for all of the educators who help students each day and congratulating the honorees.

The 2019 Leaders in Educational Excellence Awards (LEEA) opened with a welcome address from Mark Schmitz, Executive Director at Resource Training & Solutions. Ken Anderson, chair of the Resource Training & Solutions’ Board of Directors, also extended his congratulations to the honorees. Over 449 attended the annual event. Schools and districts across Resource’s central Minnesota region nominate award recipients based on suggested criteria that includes how educators inspire fellow colleagues, students, and communities through positive leadership, utilize curriculum development, motivate students, implement instructional effectiveness, act as strong role models, and display dedication to the profession of education. Public, private, parochial, and charter schools were included in the event, as well as Meeker and Wright Special Education Cooperative, the West Central Education District, and the Wright Technical Center.

Participating school districts, along with Resource Training & Solutions, sponsors the Leaders in Educational Excellence Awards (LEEA). Deb Thomes, Student Programs and Events Coordinator and the Learning and Development team at Resource Training & Solutions coordinate the event. In its 28th year, LEEA event has honored nearly 4,000 central Minnesota educators.