Return to Headlines

Congratulations ESS Winners!

Congratulations to this year's Leadership in Educational Excellence Award winners!

ESS Winners

Left to Right:

Debbie Morris, Dassel Elementary Principal
Isaac Nelson, High School Paraprofessional
Alisa Johnson Middle School Principal
Doris Kyllonen, Dassel Elementary Food Services
Tiffany Hannus, Middle School Secretary
Jeff Powers, DC Superintendent
Randy Holm, Transportation Services
Chris Meisch, High School Principal
Kate Perkins appeared on season 6 of NBC’s The Voice and was the keynote speaker at the 2019 Educational Support Staff recognition event (ESS). The ceremony was held on Wednesday, November 20th, 2019 at the Rivers Edge Convention Center, in St. Cloud. Kate spoke to the audience about her journey, and all of the adversity she has had to overcome. From growing up in a small town, to getting a record deal to then learn that she had a cist on her vocal cords. Through it all Kate remained fearless, and today lives her life by what she calls the “three C’s of fearless,” Courage, Concur, and Commend. Kate also performed her hit single “Fearless” for the audience. She closed her remarks with deep gratitude for all of the support staff who help students each day and congratulating the honorees.

The 2018 Educational Support Staff Awards (ESS) opened with a welcome address from Mark Schmitz, Executive Director at Resource Training & Solutions. Over 300 attended the annual event. Schools and districts across Resource's central Minnesota region nominate award recipients based on suggested criteria that includes knowledge of work responsibilities, demonstration of safety, cultivation of respect, acting as a positive role model, displaying a genuine concern for others, and making a difference in the lives of students, staff, and the community. Public, private, parochial, and charter schools were included in the event, as well as Meeker and Wright Special Education Cooperative, the West Central Education District, and the Wright Technical Center.

Participating school districts, along with Resource Training & Solutions, sponsor the Educational Support Staff Awards (ESS). Deb Thomes, Student Programs and Events Coordinator and the Learning and Development team at Resource Training & Solutions coordinate the event.