Return to Headlines

ReChargers gifts record amount to each DC school!!

For more than the past decade, retired teachers and support staff meet for breakfast on the first Tuesday of each month, September through June.  In 2011 Lee Rosenquist (retired DCHS math teacher) heard of a group, within another district, who used donations to help support students within their schools.  Soon after ReChargers was created as a subcommittee of the Dassel-Cokato Youth Trust. “2012 was the year we began to accept donations from former (at the time “re”-tired) employees of the school district - thus the name “Re”Chargers” Joe Harmala recalled.

The goal of ReChargers is to provide financial help, in a dignified and nonjudgemental manner, to those students in the Dassel-Cokato School District who have a personal need that cannot be met by either the family or school district.

While there is no membership required and anyone can donate, the vast majority of donors are former employees (administrators, teachers, support staff, custodians, etc).  “We have a few very generous donors (parents) whose children have all graduated from Dassel-Cokato Schools.” Joe added. “Frankly, our communities, for the most part, don’t know we exist.  We’ve run a few photos/articles in the Enterprise Dispatch in the past but it’s been more or less word of mouth that we rely on and with so many charitable organizations out there…”

All of the monies go directly to the school’s social workers except for the shared fees apportioned to them as a member of the DC Youth Trust.  To date, ReChargers has ‘given back’ $35,400 since 2012. This year they were able to donate $2,000 to each Dassel-Cokato school!!

If you are interested in donating, checks should be payable to the Dassel Cokato Youth Trust and mailed to Joe Harmala, Box 531, Cokato, MN 55321.  If you know of a student in need, please contact your school’s social worker.

Photo: left to right

Carmen Tschida (Dassel Elementary’s Social Worker), Anika Moe (DCHS’s Social Work Intern), Joe Harmala (ReChargers), Anne Mahoney (DCHS Social Worker), Beth Steinleitner (DCMS Social Worker), Heidi Sickmann (Cokato Elementary’s Social Worker)