Board Members

  • About

    The school board is the governing body of the school district, and the six members are local citizens elected to four-year teams. Members are required to comply with laws and regulations enacted by the Minnesota Legislature and the Minnesota Department of Education. The board approves budgets, hires staff, establishes curriculum and determines policy.

    Board Members

    Dassel-Cokato School Board Members

    Bill Aho - Chair

    "My goal is to help ensure that the Dassel Cokato School District remains true in our community values and that each action is absolutely best for our students. As a board member, I believe in being accessible and receptive to dialog from all students, parents, community members, and staff, that input and discussion from outside the board room shapes the right decisions within."

    Chuck Nelson - Vice Chair

    "My goal as a member of this board is to uphold the history of high-quality education which has been the standard for decades past. In order to achieve this, I believe it remains the responsibility of not only the faculty and administration, but also the School Board, and citizens of the community to work together to focus on areas of improvement and make any changes necessary to maintain this high-quality learning environment for our students."

    Dave Sangren - Treasurer

    "As a board member, I am here to serve and be available to our community, students and district employees. My goal is to help provide direction through planning, goal setting and upholding our community's values and district's mission. I want to ensure opportunities to all students by preparing them with life lessons and becoming successful contributors to their families and communities."

    Andy Engh - Clerk

    "Being a member of the school board is important to me because I want to continue to provide our students with the highest quality of education while they are within our schools and for their future endeavors. It is also important to me that we retain our quality teachers and staff who contribute to our student's success and future ventures.

    Irene Bender - Director

    "Education is our hope for the future. Each student should be instilled with a desire to learn by dedicated teachers and staff who are supported by parents and the community, as the administration and board work together to provide the best possible education for life-long learning."

    Kathy Grochow - Director

    "My goal is to serve with others to provide good oversight and direction that can lead us in unimaginable ways that impact the future success of young people and strengthens our community as a whole. I believe in the Dassel-Cokato School district, its teachers, and in the development of well-rounded students who can think, lead, and advocate through access to excellent Academics, Arts, Athletics, and Activities. "

Meeting Schedule

  • Unless otherwise noted:

    Regular monthly School Board meetings take place on the fourth Monday of each month, unless otherwise noted.

    Special meetings take place on the second Monday of each month, unless otherwise noted.

    Both meetings will be held at 6:00pm.

    Comments (-1)